The cricketing world is abuzz with excitement as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is here, and it promises to be a grand celebration of the sport. Fans from across the globe are tuning in to catch their favorite teams in action. In this blog, we’ll take a closer look at the schedule, points system, and the thrilling journey that awaits the participating teams.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule is a six-week extravaganza that showcases the best cricketing talent from around the world. The schedule is packed with thrilling matches, and here’s a glimpse of what to expect:

Group Stage Matches

The group stage consists of 45 matches, where the ten participating teams are divided into two groups. Each team faces every other team in their group once, accumulating crucial points to advance to the knockout stage.

Super 12 Stage

The top four teams from each group will advance to the Super 12 stage. This stage will feature 30 matches, where each team will play against the other four teams from the opposite group. The points from the group stage carry forward, and teams continue to earn points to secure a spot in the semifinals.


The top four teams from the Super 12 stage will battle it out in the semifinals. The first-place team will face the fourth-place team, and the second-place team will take on the third-place team.


The winners of the semifinals will clash in the grand finale to determine the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 champion.

The Points System

The points system in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is designed to reward consistency and performance. Here’s how it works:

  • Win: Teams earn 2 points for a win.
  • Tie or No Result: In case of a tied match or a no-result due to weather conditions, each team will receive 1 point.
  • Loss: Teams receive 0 points for a loss.

At the end of the group stage and the Super 12 stage, the four teams with the highest points qualify for the semifinals. In case two or more teams have the same number of points, the following tie-breakers come into play:

  1. Net Run Rate: The team with the highest net run rate (NRR) advances if points are tied.
  2. Head-to-Head Record: If the NRR is also equal, the team with a better head-to-head record moves forward.
  3. Boundary Count: If all else fails, the team with the most boundaries in their group stage and Super 12 matches secures a place in the semifinals.

The Road to Glory

The ICC Cricket World Cup is not just about matches and points; it’s about creating cricketing history and etching your name in the annals of the sport. The road to glory is paved with exceptional performances, incredible catches, record-breaking centuries, and, of course, the thrill of lifting the coveted World Cup trophy.

Teams will face not only their opponents but also the unpredictable conditions of the host country. From batting showcases to exceptional bowling spells, fans can expect a rollercoaster of emotions throughout the tournament.

With each match, points earned or lost, and milestones achieved, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be a memorable journey. For cricket enthusiasts, it’s an opportunity to witness excellence, sportsmanship, and the true spirit of the game.

As the world watches and waits with bated breath, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 unfolds, providing fans with moments they’ll cherish for years to come.

Stay updated with the latest news, live scores, and match analysis to savor every bit of the cricketing action. May the best team emerge victorious and create history!

If you enjoyed this blog, don’t forget to hit the like button!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts